Tara Tiger Brown

Icon

just prowling around

Pregnancy: 15 Weeks 09/06/09

Time is really flying, but in some ways it’s not.  As I get closer to the time that I should be feeling the baby move it can’t come fast enough.  Having proof other than cramps that he or she is in there and alive and kicking will bring me a lot of comfort.  I also look forward to when the baby can hear.  My friend Hillary said that the baby her wife is carrying can recognize her voice.  That is so thrilling and I look forward to it.

This past week I have been getting stomach aches and haven’t been eating a lot.  I eat about one major meal and I can’t even get through the entire thing.  I don’t feel nauseous, just a constant sour stomach.   I think it has something to do with being constipated :/.

I keep waking up at 4 or 5am and then can’t get back to sleep until after 7. Then I sleep in until I’m pretty much late for work.  I think I should just force myself to get up but then I’m tired for the whole day.  It’s a bummer.

15 wks So far I have gained 4 pounds, from my pic it looks like a heck of a lot more, but I think I’m right on track so I feel good about that.

I didn’t exercise very much last week which disappointed me. I didn’t swim once and that usually helps relax me and help me to sleep.  On Thursday I rode my bike home with Funston and my laptop in my messenger bag and it pretty much killed my lower back for the entire next day.  Sitting on my saddle feels different and uncomfortable and even though I’m only a few pounds more than before I was pregnant, things are shifting around and I need to just not have as much weight on my back when riding.

I feel thirsty all the time and seriously can’t get enough fluids into me.  It has been hot here in LA, so that has something to do with it, but I think my own body temperature is also rising.

I’ve been feeling a little bit faint on occasion – I can’t stand for long periods of time.  We went to a NIN’s concert and I was able to lean against a wall which helped a lot.  I looked it up and there is increased blood flow and all these other things that can cause dizziness so totally normal.

Overall I’m feeling better, but I do have good days and bad days.

The best thing that happened to me this week was when I got home the other day and there was a book on the coffee table If your kid eats this book, everything will still be OK by Lara Zibners, MD.  I asked Sean where it came from and he said he bought it. I was in shock.  As I have said, he is very supportive but he hasn’t really initiated any baby conversations and doesn’t look at my pregnancy books, so I figured he just isn’t ready.  This was definitely a break-through.  He has also taken some very clear stands on some ideas and questions I have had which is great.  I had this idea to come up with a couple of names and then when the baby was born to pick one after we have met him or her.  Sean thought this was the dumbest idea ever because he was worried about birth certificates and all that.  I am very happy when he has a strong opinion because it means he cares and realizes that these are important discussions to have.

We leave on Wednesday for SE Asia. I talked to two of my nurses and they just said to ensure I drink lots of liquids on the plane and get up every hour to prevent blood clots. Easy enough.  We are going to major cities so if there is a problem then I’ll be able to get care.

That’s it from me, here’s what the baby is up to this coming week:

– many women don’t start feeling the baby move until the 17th week (or later), but if you feel a little flutter in your belly this week, don’t discount it as gas or hunger. It could be your babe banging around.

– Baby’s head is now resting on his well-formed neck instead of directly on his shoulders like Igor.

– He’s beginning to grow eyebrows and eyelashes this week.

– The hair on the head also begins to grow

– Will start producing lanugo, which is fine hair that will cover your baby’s body up until a few weeks before birth.

– Although baby’s eyes are sealed shut, he’s now able to sense light. His eyes and ears finally look like real baby features now. As your baby practices sucking and swallowing actions, he may actually hiccup. You’ll know he’s had one too many shots of amniotic fluid by the steady thump-thump you feel.

– Over the next month, baby will grow faster than ever

– Your baby now measures nearly 4 inches, about the size of a Kit Kat “finger” or an apple (if we want to stick with fruit) and weighs more than 2 ounces.

Filed under: pregnancy,

Leave a Reply

