Tara Tiger Brown

Icon

just prowling around

Baby Bonner: Online Feb 2010

I never thought that I would ever be writing these words, “I’m pregnant.” Yep, Sean Bonner and I are going to have a baby. I wrote a post awhile ago explaining that I have advanced ovarian endometriosis in addition to hypothyroidism and I was told by two different doctors that specialize in fertility that I had about a 1% chance of conceiving naturally. I guess I should have gone for that third opinion because they were both wrong (note to self, contact them and let them know the good news).

As per my post I did make some health changes.  I ate vegan for a little while, but found it too challenging, so I essentially am vegetarian but will indulge in seafood now and again.  I stopped eating dairy for the most part and started drinking rice and almond milk instead.  I upped my veggie and fruit consumption and of course don’t eat meat.  I don’t know if it made any difference or if it was Sean’s Superman Sperm, but we bucked the odds.  I still have endometriosis, but I am told that it might retreat during the course of my pregnancy.

Finding out I was pregnant was a MAJOR shock to both of us.  I had been feeling really crummy and attributed it to my endometriosis and made an appointment to see the doctor.  It was a couple of days before I went to see him that I took the pregnancy test and it was positive.  I started laughing because it was just too unbelievable to me.

Sean and I talked about kids in the sense that one day if we both wanted them we would look at adoption, but it was a very infrequent conversation. Neither one of us goes gaga for kids and I don’t have a ticking clock going off.  In fact, we had just started discussing a year long trip around the world. Getting pregnant was not something we planned or even thought we could plan.  All I wanted from trying to beat my endo was to not be in so much pain and to take back the choice to have kids so that if I decided to, I could.

Despite our apprehension with the situation, we went to the OB-GYN and sure enough, there was the little blob with the flicking heartbeat.  I’m put in the “high risk” category because I turn 35 in November but we just finished some screening tests and the doc said the baby looks healthy.  I decided to let people know after this doctor visit because let me tell you, keeping this secret at work when you are sick and tired is the hardest thing I have ever done.  I am so thankful to my boss whose wife is pregnant because I finally broke down and told him and he immediately started giving me info on doulas (I heart you Bob Moz!).

I am also very thankful to the people who have been supportive of me and it’s nice to know I have friends that are also pregnant or recently gave birth so I can inundate them with questions and be part of another club.  Of course I am the most thankful to my dude Sean who is very supportive despite being incredibly freaked out.  Didn’t we just get married? 🙂

So ya, I’m pregnant, and I’m super scared and nervous but I also have little moments of excitement.  I mean, who wouldn’t want Sean Bonner to be the father to their kid?  He’s badass, adventurous, loves cute things, has a bunch of rad toys, and is pretty dang smart.  I know everyone thinks that their baby is a miracle, but I honestly really think that.  The baby is due on Sean’s birthday in late February and in the Year of the Tiger which is the same as my Chinese Zodiac.  I think that just puts a cherry on top.

Filed under: life, pregnancy,

36 Responses

  1. Bronwyn says:

    Wow, that is *awesome*! Truly huge congrats to you and Sean.

  2. Annika says:

    Holy crap! That is going to be an incredibly good-looking baby.

  3. Damn you for making me teary-eyed! Congrats you two… sounds like you feel exactly what I would feel.

    One thing, though… who says you can’t take that year long trip around the world? YOU ARE THE BONNERS!!! We expect you to do that, even with a little one! If anyone’s going to strap a baby to her back and travel to Asia, it’s you.

  4. Clintus says:

    Holy shit! This is amazing news!! Congrats to you both! I am so stoked for you!

  5. quepol says:

    What a journey! Welcome to the club. 🙂 Many happy, blissful congratulations to you and Sean!

  6. Kathleen says:

    Hooray! Congrats! And I agree with Annika. Hello, supermodel Bonner!

  7. ali. says:

    i’m so happy for both of you – congrats!

  8. amanda says:

    awesome 🙂 congratulations!

  9. Xeni says:

    Big hug, best wishes to you both, and a long and wonderful life, all three of you.

  10. Fuck yeah! Super psyched for you both!

  11. mack says:

    Kudos, and congrats, you two.

    a) Don’t sweat the age – Kristina had ours at 34 and 36

    b) Prepare for a deluge of completely unwanted and occasionally amusing prenatal advice from total strangers. Sryusly. It gets weird at times.

    c) Cool.

  12. Fogarty says:

    Goodness, gracious! And congratulations! That kid’ll have some kind of rad superpower.

  13. Julia says:

    Wonderful wonderful wonderful! I wish you three all the very best!

  14. Ross says:

    This is great news! My lady also has endometriosis and she was able to kick its ass.

  15. Erica says:

    OMG OMG!!! While I was there I was wondering if you might be pregnant (feeling weird after food, etc.).

    YAYYYYY!!!! Congratulations to you two. Your baby is gonna be the coolest.

  16. Tryphoon says:

    Congrats to the both of you! I guess that the next time we meet at @cruftbox, you’ll be the one running after the very young crawling thing! 🙂

  17. Anders says:

    Must have been all the Cat Workout sessions! I can see it now:

    “As seen on TV! Working out with your cat can increase the likelihood of pregnancy, should you be keen on that actually happening. And a woman.”

    and the testimonials:

    “I’ve never felt more pregnant in my life! Thank you, Cat Work Out dot com! Thank you!”

    Congrats, Tara! That’s awesome.

  18. woahhhh!!! what a surprise! amayzing news, guys. i’m so excited!

  19. Nat Tubanos says:

    WOW! Considering the odds you were given, that truly does sound like a little miracle you’re getting. SO exciting to hear. Congrats to you and Sean! And good luck with EVERYTHING!!

  20. Snowbear says:

    DUDE! That is awesome! *big bear hugs* 😀 Congrats to both of you!

    February in the Year of the Tiger eh? I was also born in the Year of the Tiger in ’74. 😀 If little Baby Bonner is born early on the 9th consider naming it Chris. Ha ha! Just kidding. 😀

    Take care of yourself Tara, and congrats again!

  21. YAY So happy for you guys!!!!!

  22. Braxton says:

    CONGRATULATIONS to you both. Our little Claire Elise is four weeks old this Thursday. 🙂

  23. GEF says:

    1) as soon as morning sickness is over, get your travel on, and if you don’t have it, go NOW! take 3 months for your trip, get back and GET READY for life!

    2) all the cliché’s are true

    3) call us anytime

    p.s. D.I.Y. as much as you can, it pays of forever 😉

  24. Congrats!

    I’m glad that by changing your diet you were able to conceive naturally.

    Hopefully, the change will carry through and beat back the endo after you deliver a healthy baby next Feb.

    And, great that you have a boss who recommended doulas – they are some of the most awesome people to have in your corner when you’re preggers. There’s a doula & prenatal yoga lady on Twitter who’s handle is @prenatalyoga – she’d be a good person to also contact for recommendations on finding the right doula for you.

    I’d offer up my massage services, however, I am just a wee bit away half way across the country… 🙂

    Good luck and cheers to you and Sean on your “upcoming production!”

  25. Will says:

    I can already see his nickname is going to be “1%”.

  26. Tara Brown says:

    Thanks so much everyone for your kind thoughts!!

  27. Zadi says:

    Wow! Amazing! Congratulations guys. So exciting, and so happy to hear you beat the odds. Take THAT doctors! 🙂

  28. Mike O says:

    Three is a magic number.

    “They had three in the family…”

  29. eric L says:

    holy crap, this is awesome tara! congrats to you and sean. i hope you have a wonderful smart healthy rascal! and i’m glad you’re getting some world traveling in before you get too far along.

  30. shane says:

    I love this. Congratulations, so much.

  31. Kyle Evans says:

    WELL DONE!!! Serious congrats, and all my best to the future mom and dad 🙂

  32. gee says:

    for other women with endo, here are some great sites

    centerforendo.com
    makingbabies.com
    endometriosis.org/nutrition
    endofound.org
    endometriosissurgeon.com
    endoexcision.com
    naprotechnology.com
    omsoul.com
    fertilitycare.org
    endo-resolved.com
    erc.activboard.org/ google if it doesn’t come up
    johnleemd.com

  33. johannes says:

    wonderful, just wonderful!

  34. slippy says:

    Nice!! Congrats!!! Too awesome.

  35. Ravi says:

    I am very happy for you Tara! And it is really a miracle baby! Here is wishing you a very happy and safe pregnancy! Let us know when you find out whether it is a boy or a girl! Do you have any preference??

  36. waakeupcall says:

    Congrats! Yay for Superman Sperm!

Leave a Reply

