Tara Tiger Brown

Icon

just prowling around

Knighting myself “West Coast Girl”

One week tomorrow I’ll be driving from San Francisco to Venice Beach in a truck with my stuff. This will mark the fourth city that I have lived in on the left coast – Vancouver, Seattle, San Francisco, and now Venice (LA). I don’t know how many others can claim that, certainly no one that I know. So, I have decided to give myself the title “West Coast Girl” and see if anyone else tries to claim it.

It’s really kind of crazy, I mean I just moved back to San Francisco in August after four years away in Seattle. I was so so happy to be back and absolutely adore the Mission where I live. That being said, there is a cheesy saying “home is where the heart is” and someone named Sean Bonner has claimed it over San Francisco.

After mulling it over and me spending more time in LA, we decided to make Venice our home – and by home I mean this is the first time that we will be living together officially. We got married Oct. 31st, 2008 and still haven’t moved in together. Sean is leaving his beloved eastside but as he has mentioned the air there is killing him and being closer to the airport will make things more convenient for him. Plus there is a badass new Intelligentsia opening up in Venice and he is super psyched about that.

I’m super excited to make my dream of living at the beach come true, still be able to ride my bike to work, and be closer to the airport. I have also made some new friends in LA who I am really excited to hang out with and make brunch for and I’ll never complain about more sunshine.

The good news is that I will be back up in SF once or twice a month to work out of the Topspin San Francisco office and my lovely Angela is letting me crash with her in the Mission. I feel so so fortunate to have my cake and eat it too.

I hope that my friends on the west coast and around the world come and visit me and Sean and Funston and LuckyCat. We have a lovely guestroom and spare bikes.

The adventure continues…

Namaste

West Coast

Filed under: life, , , , ,

7 Responses

  1. Erica says:

    I am so happy for you guys. I would imagine that I’ll be joining you in Venice (or close) in the next year or so. But first, a visit!!

  2. Fogarty says:

    Keep up this nomadic madness and you guys’ll be living somewhere in Chile by 2020!

  3. msread says:

    It looks like you need some places in Oregon or Eureka,CA to really round out your claim to West Coast girl.

    Once you move to Venice you quickly feel the effects of the 405 force field (this is the force field that keeps west siders from venturing east of the 405 except in extreme situations). I never thought when we moved to the west side from Hollywood I would become one of those people but…I TOTALLY AM. Tim will suggest we go someplace east of the 405 and I will whine “but its soooooo faaaar.”

  4. Beth says:

    Tara- that’s awesome! ๐Ÿ™‚ I imagine it’s hard to move so many times within this last year, but at the same time, I think you’ll probably really enjoy being closer to Sean, and… wow- you get to live on a beach! I’m totally jealous ๐Ÿ™‚ Anyway, best wishes with the move and on starting the next phase of your West Coast existence ;D

  5. Sean Bonner says:

    Yay!! I can’t wait.

  6. joanna says:

    There’s already a west coast girl. http://grrl.wordpress.com/

    I hope you realize that Sean doesn’t live on the eastside. You have a lot to learn. Welcome to LA!

  7. Clintus says:

    super exciting! I tend to make more trips to LA than any other city so this is a good thing ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

