Tara Tiger Brown

Icon

just prowling around

Where is she?

I’ve been really really missing my best friend Candice lately.  I think of her everyday. She died tragically on November 10, 2006 and I still haven’t gotten over it. I never will.

I am reposting two things I wrote on November 19th and 20th, 2006 when I was on Windows Live Spaces:

I lost my best friend on November 10th.  It seems so strange to blog about it, but I want to get a couple of messages out there to the world so that her death isn’t meaningless.
First, Candice and her boyfriend Owen were killed by a drunk driver.  I don’t need to tell you that drinking and driving is bad, but to me, its real now. Someone very dear to me died because someone was drinking and driving and now its not just a bad idea its a horribly tragic and needless atrocity.  For the sake of your family and friends and anyone else that could be affected by you drinking and driving, please don’t do it. And don’t let your friends and family do it.  The driver that killed them had friends in the car that could have stopped him but they didn’t and now they are dead too.  5 people died because one person decided to drink and drive.  He knew the road well that he was travelling on when he killed them, but he crossed the center line and hit them straight on.  My point is that it doesn’t matter how familiar you are with the road, you just can’t think straight when mixing alcohol and getting behind the wheel.
Secondly, be good to your friends.  Candice loved her friends and showed kindness, respect, devotion, caring and love towards them.  She nurtured our relationship far more than I did. We have lived in different cities for the past 6 years and she was the one that worked the hardest to keep our friendship alive by visiting, emailing and calling me.  My birthday and Christmas are going to be tough this year b/c I always looked forward to hearing from her and exchanging gifts and cards.  She always put so much thought into her gifts and it wasn’t the fact she got me something it was that she cared about me enough to want to do something nice for me.  If you have a friend that you keep meaning to call or write to, just do it.  It’ll make you feel great and you will have no regrets.  They can be gone in a split second and you won’t ever get that chance to tell them how you feel, so do it today, do it right now.
Candice was on this planet for a reason and I think one of those reasons was to demonstrate what a true friend is and how easily you can lose them, so hold on tight, and look after them.
______________________________________________________________________________________________________
I’ve been trying to figure out what I want to say at Candice’s service and so I tried writing a poem.  I had it sitting in notepad on my computer and just now took another look at it and realized that it came out in the shape of a “C”.  It actually startled me when I discovered it.
waiting for your return
plans for a reunion
change in plans
unexpected
sadness
shock
dismay
anger
rage
loneliness
where did you go
when are you coming back
waiting to see you again
Filed under: annoyed, life, , , ,

2 Responses

  1. Erica says:

    This is so heart breaking, Tara. I don’t know much else to say other than that. I’ve dealt with enough death in my life and I am still speechless every time. Lots of love.

  2. Isla Campbell Lupton says:

    Hi Tara,
    So sad to read this, I knew Owen when he was on exchange in Dundee, Scotland and visited him in Vancouver too. Still can’t believe that he is gone.
    Isla

Leave a Reply

