Tara Tiger Brown

Icon

just prowling around

Old Music for an Old Lady

I’m older today and I’m not going to lie, I’m not taking the birthday very well.  I typically listen to music that is emotional when I’m not feeling my cheery self.  Usually when I feel this way I listen to a certain selection of old school songs from way back in the day that put me into more of an emotionally fragile state until I have it out of my system and feel a sense of relief.  This is the first time I have actually thought about what these songs mean to me and wrote it out.

“Still Remains” by Stone Temple Pilots on their Purple album
“If you should die before me, ask if you can bring a friend”
I think this song is intensely romantic, it says “I am so in love with this person that i would rather die than be without them.”  I have always thought that and there are very few other songs that come close.

“Big Empty” by Stone Temple Pilots from their Purple album
“time to take her home, her dizzy head is conscience laden..time to wait too long, time to wait too long”
I first fell in love with this song when I became obsessed with the movie “The Crow”
It’s hard to be in love with someone more than they are in love with you.  With someone that isn’t sure what they want. Especially if its you they aren’t sure of.

“I Love You” by Sarah McLachlan from her album Surfacing
“I have a smile stretched from ear to ear

World Around us Disappears
Its just you and me on my island of hope
The prayers between us could be miles

I grieve from my condition
For I cannot find the words to say I need you so”

Sarah is one of my all time favorite lyricists and musicians. I think her voice is beautiful and she feels every word that she sings.  I love falling asleep to her as its like a warm blanket.  This song in particular touches me because I have always been horrible about telling people how I feel about them – not just the man I love, but my family and friends as well.

“L.E.S. Artistes” by Santogold featuring Movado

What I’m searching for
To tell the truth I’m building a wall

I can say I hope it will be worth what I give up
…for the things that I believe

I’m an introverted excavator”

For some reason this song makes me think about the things I am willng to forego in order to be with someone I love and hoping that I am making a good choice

“At My Most Beautiful” by REM
“I found a way to make you
A way to make you smile”

Two people trying to figure things out.  Someone else seeing you and helping you to feel beautiful on the inside and out.

“Ex-factor” by Lauryn Hill from The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill
“tell me who I have to be

see no one loves you more than me
and no one ever will

see I know what we have to do
you let go and I’ll let go too”

This is the ultimate break up song.  I was with someone that I cared for very deeply, but we were horrible as a couple. We fought very badly and were completely miserable together.  When I hear this song I don’t think of him, but this song hits at the very crux of many relationships…as much as it hurts sometimes you need to let go for the better of both of you

“Waiting For That Day / You Can’t Always Get What You Want” by George Michael
“I just sit here on this mountain thinking to myself
You’re a fool boy why don’t you go down find somebody find somebody else
My memory servers me far too well
Its not as though we just broke up
Its not as though it was yesterday
But something I just can’t explain
Something in me needs this pain
I know I’ll never see your face again”

Sometimes its hard to say goodbye to someone that you love.  Memories can be debilitating and can
stop you from moving on…as hard as it is you need to move on.  Its hard not to beg them to come
back.  But you can’t always get what you want.  The other person may have moved on and there isn’t a chance for reconciliation.

Filed under: music, , , ,

Leave a Reply

