Tara Tiger Brown

Icon

just prowling around

Dear Seattle

Dear Seattle,

I’m leaving you. There, I said it. It has taken me some time to get the courage up to tell you, but it’s not fair to you or me and it’s time I moved on. We’ve been together for a little over 4 years now and have gone through many ups and downs. It is time I got off this roller coaster.

When I was with Vancouver for all those years, I didn’t even give you a second look because you were too similar and Vancouver is well, Vancouver. Then I met San Francisco and although for the four years we were together we definitely had a good time, it seemed fleeting and family and settling down was important to me. You called me up quite unexpectedly that one day to console me and I am so grateful.

We started out as friends, and had many of the same interests. You made it really easy to see my family and they seemed to like you pretty well. You and I had a lot of affection for each other but never quite fell in love. It may be because we faced a lot of emotional tragedy in the short time we were together and I don’t think I can recover from that. Every time I look at you I am reminded of losing so many loved ones and I need my heart to heal.

I was going to go for a fresh start with someone new, but San Francisco called me and wants me back. Apparently things will be different now and I need to reconsider the reasons I left in the first place. Also, because I want to be totally honest,  I am crushing on Los Angeles a bit and it seems reciprocal so I’m going to see where that goes. For now, though, I am going to see if I can work things out with SF because quite frankly, my heart never left.

So, Seattle, my last day with you is July 17th. My bags are almost all packed and I’m saying goodbye to friends tonight. I sincerely hope that you and I stay in touch and can remain friends because I would like to hang out from time to time. I hope you stay beautiful inside and out and don’t let anyone tell you that you shed too many tears, that’s what makes you so vibrant.

Take care.

Much love,

Tara

Filed under: life, Uncategorized, , , , , , , , ,

10 Responses

  1. Jeff Croft says:

    Yo T…

    If I were still in Seattle, I’d be sad about this, fo’ sho’. Since I’m not, I’ll just say that I know I’ll see you soon, whenever you (and I) may end up. Have a good move — talk soon! 🙂

  2. Alex says:

    Welcome back Tara!! We missed you…

  3. Vincent says:

    ♪♬ If you’re goooooooing to Saaaaan Fraaaaanciiisco, be suure to weeeeear some flowers in your haaair ♬♪

    Wishing you all the best in this new phase of your life!

  4. Good luck on the move! You are lucky to live in all those cool cities 🙂

  5. hillary says:

    looking forward to seeing more of you in the SF. congrats!

  6. Sean Bonner says:

    I have it on pretty good authority that Los Angeles is definitely crushing on you as well. How adorable!

  7. Reeves says:

    Hey! I just got here!

  8. Matt says:

    Welcome back indeed, its been a long time, SF has missed you.

  9. Val says:

    take me with you!

  10. Mark Bate says:

    Ah, poor Seattle. He must be devastated to lose you, but it’s for the best.

    I have to say though that I also fell in love with San Fran the first time I was there.. and I continue to keep falling in love with it (just got back from the 3rd time).
    It reminds me very much of where I am currently in Melbourne, Aus.. same kinda cosmopolitan artsy city, but I dunno there’s just something about San Fran.. no doubt I’ll prob end up joining you over there soon ;p

Leave a Reply

